The Graph Council - Meeting #27 Notes

Council members value transparency and have agreed to follow Chatham House Rules for sharing meeting notes. On Tuesday, April 5, 2022, The Graph Council held its 27th meeting.


Council Members (“Members”)
Brandon Ramirez
Jim Cousins
Justin Moses
Michael Anderson
Santiago Palladino
Sebastian Siemssen
Spencer Noon
Yaniv Tal
Yondon Fu

The Graph Foundation
Eva Beylin, Director, The Graph Foundation (the “Foundation”)

Observer and Note Taker
Observer: Andrew Domzalski, Edge & Node Ventures, Inc. (“Edge & Node”)
Note taker: Oliver Zerhusen, the Foundation

Council Business
The meeting commenced at 11:02 am PST


Foundation treasury vested token release

One Foundation member provided details of the 2022 budget as well as an 8 year outlook. Members discussed individual line items of the budget within the context of the recently published R&D roadmap. Audit costs are projected to outpace initial assumptions and have therefore been revised upwards. The Members agreed to proceed with an asynchronous vote on the budget.

Council Charter

The Members discussed modifications to the current language specifying the recusal process for Council Members in an effort to further improve transparency in cases of potential conflict of interest on governance voting. The Members agreed to continue Charter discussions at the next Council meeting.


A Member discussed grant proposals aimed to develop standards for high quality subgraphs and to lead working groups in The Graph ecosystem, and also a potential grantee proposing complex multi-subgraph developments in an effort to establish generic methods for subgraph development. The Members agreed to continue with discussions on the proposals and working out necessary details.

The Members reviewed a large grant proposal for a liquid staking protocol. One Member raised the need to gain a deeper understanding of the overall effects of liquid staking, specifically with regards to stake decentralization. The Members agreed to obtain deeper feedback from domain experts in this field.