Why is there billing from the first query?

I am a fairly new developer of DeFi, coming from the Web Dev world.

I’ve been going in circles for weeks, trying to figure out how to query for UniV3 Liquidity Pairs given a pair of tokens… a task quite trivial with UniV2 and the factory contract… After weeks of asking and asking around, I concluded that the only feasible way is through using thegraph protocol via GraphQL queries.

I have now realised that in order to perform even a single query on TheGraph, I am required to pay in GRT.

This has perplexed and confused me in multiple levels…

1. I know and understand there are costs involved in maintaining this infrastructure. Everyone knew this when TheGraph started and positioned itself as the “single-source-of-truth” for many queries… Is this now a matter of TheGraph leveraging their unique position in expense of the developers?

2. Why aren’t DAOs participating in the costs instead of collecting fees from the Developers?

3. How are the DAOs actively supporting this business model, milking the people who put their work in to make tooling, applications and services for DeFi?

4. Why isn’t there a common sense tier system like most commercial services have? Where they offer a free tier for up an amount of resource usage and beyond that billing starts, something sensible?

I could go on and on with issues and trying to understand justification, but for this to be so widely supported and noone raising the issue, I must be missing something fundamental…

So I am prepared to get embarrassed with what I am missing here…

1 Like

The Graph Network is technically a paid service, you pay for the queries you run through the network.
There’s still the “free” service, which is what was known as the “hosted service”, which is still functioning (probably where you were querying the UniV2 data) and will still be available for some time, as far as I understand.